top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: Transfers brings masks and miracles

Morning everyone! This new transfer is going to be so great.I'm not a koon (trainee) anymore, and today is my 5th month mark. 5 down, 13 to go! crazy how time flies when you're having fun. I am now in Steung Mean Chey, ward 2 and the work sure is hastening! I am in the south outskirts of Phnom Penh, so our area is still pretty city like, but not as congested in traffic and the further you bike, the more trees and fields of trash you see! it's way dusty here, like the roads are all dirt-trash mix and there are lots of big trucks so, I HAVE BECOME A MASK WEARER. this is a big deal yall. I NEVER thought I could handle being that asian.... but I have given in. Better to wear the darn thing than to have an inch of dirt cake your lips every time you get off your bike. For you that thought only the sick wear them, there are actually many uses. Dirt, trash, bugs, pollution... you name it! Forever more, a mask-wearer I'll be!

So now that I now wear my mask around 24/7, the area is great! We have lots of work to do, but not too many people that are reliable to meet so far. We will have to do some contacting this week to find some new investigators. It's a little bit tricky to go from one area to another, because you never know what you're going to get. I guess Heavenly Father really does have my work for me here in Steung Mean Chey because He has sent the work with me.... In my last area, one lady, OmLidaa, and a married couple, move away and we never got to meet them at their houses. In particular, OmLidaa was off and on active, and we had gone to her house so many times wanting to meet here. Since she moved, we were so sad we didn't get to meet here, but guess what. I went to church in my new ward yesterday, and THERE SHE WAS. AND THE COUPLE WAS THERE TOO. WHAT. Guess they didn't get enough of me yet... :) Way cool. I got to talk to them all and get their info so we can meet them later this week. My new companion ROCKS. She is from Cambodia, and her name is also Whitney. Whatttt? She spells it like Vouchny, but it sounds the exact same. Who woulda thought!? She even dyed a one of the member's hair (at her request) while we were in a lesson this week.... #service. haha She's so funny with English, she keeps me laughing constantly. I'm so excited to learn from her! My Khmer has gotten 4 times better in the last 5 days as well. We had another baptism this week! I wish I would've gotten to teach the girl more of the lessons, but since I'm still new to the area I at least got to be there to help her with her interview and baptism this week. She is way cute, named Daaney. She and I have already become great friends and hopefully I'll be in this area for a while to help her out during the first few months as a new convert. For as much as I love my new area, I do miss Teuk Laák. Especially my English class kids and my piano class. For as stressful as it can be to teach in Khmer, I had so much fun with them! In the past classes in English, we gave the spiritual thought on change and how to become Christ-like. We try to explain to them that our purpose here in life is to change and progress in order to reach the "big blessing" eternal life. One girl had questions about how we can all be like Christ if we are always tired, working, sick, poor etc. So I've been studying that lately. I've learned from the words of prophets and in the scriptures that It is through His grace and through His Atonement that we can progress, repent, and become better than before. No matter our circumstances, we can become like Him! We focus a lot on the Atonement of Jesus Christ in our teaching and studying, because it really is the most important, central point in the Gospel. "The Atonement of Jesus Christ makes the Savior's invitation to 'be ye therefore perfect, even as your father which is in heaven is perfect' perfectly possible." (Elder Haynie Conf Oct 2015) I love learning and teaching about our Savior every single day. He knows you, He loves you! Wish the whole world could know that. I guess I'll at least start here in Cambodia. :) I love you all, wish you a happy week! Do something nice for someone this week.

love,

Sister Haddock


bottom of page