top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: We See Wonders

Hello everyone, How are you!?

This week was the most WONDERFUL week ever. It started out great with a once-in-a-mission trip to one of the 7 WONDERS of the world at ANGKOR WAT in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Well, you probably saw the pictures, it was WONDERFUL. besides being the most stressful 24 hour non-stop craziness, we had such a blast and being in nature (real nature where the dirt is clean and the air isn't smogged up) was the most amazing feeling. When we watched the sunrise, though there were a ton of people around, it was so peaceful waiting for the sun. So beautiful! Though my legs were actually sore the next day (we never ever walk.... like ever) I couldn't help but just be in awe at how beautiful the earth is. Being in the concrete city for a while will do that to you I guess. Even though we were hanging out in some temple ruins from ancient Hindu and Buddhist kings, I couldn't help but be amazed and so thankful for every single speck of evidence that God lives. Like the scriptures say, "äll things denote there is a God". For as cheesy as it is, "How Great Thou Art" was probably stuck in my head all day because I didn't know how else to express my feelings of gratitude for a loving Creator that let us live in a wonderful place! No wonder it's a Wonder! Then we contacted the tour guide (he thought we were way cool because it was probably his first tour given in khmer, not english. Everyone that passed us thought we were insane!) and he was like "yes. I see what you are doing is a good thing, and I think you have the happiness that I want my kids to have too" So then we gave him the address for the church and hopefully he will remember us!

We have picked up a few more wonderful investigators this week.All from referrals from English Class. Our area is actually pretty far from the stake center, so we have never, not once!, gotten a referral from english class in my entire 6 months here. BUT in the last 2 weeks we got 11+ referrals. THATS INSANE. and they're starting to learn and one in particular, her name is Chira and she is amazing! She's so full of questions and desire to just know everything all at once that we need to help her slow down a little. It's nice to be a little overwhelmed by the large amount of work the Lord has provided for us these last few weeks.

This week I saw a real life Character of Christ experience happen right before my eyes. We went to the RS pres. house to teach her and her niece, but when we got there she looked like she hadn't slept in days and she was crying. She was about on her way out and she said "oh good sisters you're here!" turns out her grand daughter was born pre-mature and they were really scared for her health. She was in a rush to go to the hospital.The RS president has a lot of health problems herself and has been struggling a lot lately anyway, so she was really flustered. We saw how sad she was and immediately asked if there was anything we could do to help her, but she just turned around and ran up the stairs, grabbed a bunch of frozen treats and fruit and gave it to us and hoped that we would have a good day! Then she was like alright, "I love you both, is there anything I can do for you? do you need this? do you need that?" WHAT? She was so selfless in a moment where I was expecting to be the one serving her. THAT is charity everyone. She turns outward and serves those around her every time she needs the help herself. I love her so much! I learned a lot from her that day.

I'm so grateful for the experiences and wonders the lord puts before me every single day! I love being a missionary!

Have a great week!

Love,

Sister Haddock

SiEm ReAp

This picture was taken 2.4 seconds before the entire line of elephants started walking straight towards us and out the park.... ahhhhh

In the tuk tuk on the way in

Sister Brown and I took a couple pose picture. #mtccomps

we had to entertain ourselves while waiting to get in to ANGKOR WAT

With our fabulous tour guide at the steps to the "celestial kingdom" inside Ankgor

We rode a non-hot air balloon and could see the entire world basically.

6:00 am the sun was up and we were ready to go exploring!

the Tomb Raider anyone?

BAYON... those are heads

Then next day we woke up at 4:00 am to watch the sunset over Angkor

APSARA

more heads


bottom of page