top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: you get 4 baptized + your "Place of Death"

HELLO!

I apologize for not writing last week... busy busy with missionary trying to be BYU student stuff, but now that it's 1/2 figured out, I guess I owe you an over due Happy Chinese New Year! It's been crazy here in the city and I loved making and eating duck egg cupcakes with the members to celebrate! We even took a quick snap shot with some Chinese babies to remember the day.

This week was the craziest because one of our investigators, Chira, who we've met everyday for like 3 weeks got BAPTIZED yesterday! So fast. But she's SO ready. Also 3 other people in our area got baptized yesterday, it was probably the funniest baptism I've ever been to. It was of course still spiritual and really powerful, but It took 9 times for the first two to go under the water all the way, and by then my cute Chira was so scared to even get in the font! When the font is outside in the front yard of the church, you get to stand right up next to the water!

Chira is the fastest progressing investigator I've ever seen. Also the most committed and genuinely repentant person I've ever seen. She's so amazing! We watched the restoration with her too, she was so interested in the 1800 fashion and blue eyed kids in the beginning that I was scared she wouldn't get the story line down, but in the end, it turned out to be one of the most powerful moments we've ever had with her.

Yesterday was a great day for our ward because one of our long time members who i've known for almost my whole mission finally was able to get a marriage certificate to validate her wedding 10 years ago and now she can finally fulfill her goal of going to the temple to be sealed! SO excited for her. I've been praying with her for 7 months now! Which brings more good news,

For my last area in my mission: I'M GOING TO BATTAMBONG. A Province 7 hours from the city. IM SO EXCITED. Except that i've been in ToulSangKe, Phnom Penh for 7 months and I'm SO SAD to leave all the good people here. They've changed my life! BUT Battambong will be a great finishing place for my last 6 months in my mission. I am way sad I won't be able to finish my projects for the ward music fire side and a choir number for Sister Cordon who is coming to visit in a few weeks. I did hear that Battambong has a REAL piano though... so........ The Lord will provide!

We had Zone Conference this last week mostly focused on how to deal with the new schedule we've been given. (they gave us a lot more agency and self- accountability now) and how to teach repentance to baptize converts! So good. Also they did an exercise portion which was hilarious. We did group "P90X" filmed by missionaries in our own mission. Apparently we're not healthy enough out here riding bikes all day. I'm excited!

We picked up two new investigators this week, one of them is a 12 year old boy who is learning with us and his older sister. He reminds me of my little brother. So smart and funny, he's going to make a great priesthood leader someday. I can already tell how believing and strong he is.

I love being a missionary! I'm going to say that for as many days as I can. Last Transfer of the mission starts now. Making it the best one yet! Have a good week!

Love,

Sister Haddock

Making duck egg cupcakes

Chinese babies

some funny kids

BAPTISM also notice the 4 year old named James posing in the middle haha!

The sunset as we were biking


bottom of page