top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: The Truly Rich are Truly Grateful

Suisadaay! and Happy Easter everyone! This is the greatest time of year! It's 108 F degrees and spring time is coming soon! haha....

I don't have a ton of time today, but I wanted to share about my week of experiences that were reminders of gratitude. Everything that happened this week sparked some thought to be grateful for the fortunate life I have and reminded me to be grateful for the Savior and His gospel.

Grateful moment #1: Yesterday, Sister Leng and I attended a sacrament meeting with Elder Wu from the Asia Area quorum of the 70. He came and shared a simple but very inspiring message about being truly rich and truly grateful. He asked: what is the value of the gospel of Jesus Christ to you personally? He said in the world today there are many who think being rich is about the 5 C's:

Cars Cash Condos Country clubs and Credit Cards. But those who are the richest are they who have these 5 C's: Christ, Covenants, are faithful Church members, Callings, and Charity to become Christ-like. He spoke so sincerely to the congregation to "believe that YOU are the richest". and he gave a point to remain the richest: "Make the Sabbath day the most important day of the week, make the sacrament the center of your sabbath day, and make the atonement the heart of the sacrament meeting." He promises that if we do those 3 things, we will remain the richest of them all. It was such a simple, but well-said message that touched the members. Some of the members in our ward have literally nothing. Their houses are concrete boxes with a door and most nights when we visit, they pray for the lord to provide something for them to eat. His message was one I will always remember and hope gave these members some hope. I'm grateful for the opportunity I have to know the gospel and know my Savior. I can't imagine not having that hope and love and peace to rely on.

Grateful moment #2: I moved bricks for a old lady, they were building a wall under her house or something (her house is on stilts) and the bricks were stacked 6 feet tall waiting to be used. We were moving them from the stacks into little piles closer to the construction site. A little kid came over and pushed one of the stacks over and all the bricks broke into shale pieces and dust.... "tough as bricks" has taken on a new meaning.... I'm grateful for stable architecture and a permanent house that won't collapse.

Grateful #3: Sister Leng! I have been under the weather a bit and lost my voice for 6 days now. I don't know how to teach when literally no sound comes out, but I've been trying to make do. I'm grateful for a companion that takes care of me and helps me out when I want to say stuff and literally can't. I'm also grateful to have to be more of a listener this week. I hear and notice a lot more stuff that I normally don't hear. blessings in disguise.

Grateful #4 We went from 2 investigators to 18 this week after re-organizing our books and planning. They got lost before I got to the area and if we hadn't of found them, we probably wouldn't have taught any of them! not all of them are progressing, but at least we have people to go find!

Grateful #5 I'm grateful I get to teach in Khmer and to people that usually haven't heard about Christ before. I used to think this was a burden, now it's a blessing. I had a small experience talking with an American guy at a less-active's house this week. He tried to interest me in this Indian-christian religion that I have no idea about... I didn't really know how to respond, and my english is getting awkwarder by the month out here, so shout out to all my pals serving in the U.S. I'm sure you experience this on the norm. I'm grateful for simple teaching in a simple language.

Grateful #6 It is "Bey Kuat"month which is a root type veggie thing - compariable to Jicama i've been told? well I'm obsessed with eating this fruit thing and soon mango season will be coming. Simple things that make up for the constant sweaty weather. :)

I'm grateful for the opportunity I have to be a missionary for the Lord. The work is going, and it's going fast! I miss and love you all! Have a great week!

love,

Sister Haddock

Bong Phiap couldn't sit still long enough to take a picture - that is a HUGE book of mormon she's holding

RS activity for 174 years - role-play on how to do visiting teaching. when you don't have pews, you can do this!

Sister Brown came for an Exchange! LOVE HER

This is Om SomAnn. She's one of our LA's and she came to church today!

ometimes when you have 4 sisters living in one house you all cook to make a feast That fruit plate has Dragon fruit, orange, sapodillos, and mango. fruit here is a BIG DEAL

sister Leng riding down our 'not quite america' street we live on. #blessed


bottom of page