top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: It's Conference in Kampongcham

Christmas just happened, or maybe it was general conference... to missionaries it's basically the same thing :)

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well and happy out in the mother land. IT"S OFFICIALLY MANGO SEASON and Khmer New Years is this week. I'll let you know how that goes once it happens. Everyone in the city is getting antsy to celebrate. I spent the first few days of the week prepping to leave SteungMeanChey 2 and to come to Kampongcham! Of course I had to pack super quick because the elders didn't tell me my bus was leaving 3 hours earlier than planned, but it all worked out and here I am in the Khet! Basically there are a lot of mango/coconut trees and no traffic. and the streets are surprisingly clean for the most part. It's really nice! There is a BEAUTIFUL Island in my area and a river that makes it humid and hotter than hades. It rocks! We had 2 good proselyting days this week so far, I haven't had time to meet too many people yet due to meetings and General Conference. Hopefully as the week goes on I will meet more people out here in branch 2.

My companion from SMC Sister Leng was the cutest and I learned so much from her. I will miss her A TON. But, I'm also really grateful for my new companion Sister Nhem. I'm not sure if she will be here the full transfer, but I've already learned so much from her already! Our house is full of khmer fish and mangos and it's never been better :)

I met one investigator named Jariyaa. She already is attached to me at the hip haha! She's way good and comes to church and came to conference this week, and she is getting ready for baptsim soon. We met her on the grounds of a super creepy hospital here with one of our other investigators named Srey Noi. She's really great too. Both of these girls have started learning and continue to progress. Srey Noi told us she receieved an answer to her prayers of help from God and that she is super excited to get ready for baptism if her husband will soften his heart and allow it. We will continue to meet them again this week. OmChanton is also in this branch. She's a legend here with the missionaries because she is the funniest, craziest old lady, and got baptized last year. When I first met her, she walked into english class and yelled "sup homies" in english! She came to conference yesterday too. (it's a big deal ok?) :) I will hopefully have pictures of her next week. We had a really good zone training this week. I love all the people I get to work with in this zone. We have Kampongcham and KampongThom "khet"s in our zone so we have a tone of elders and me and 3 khmer sisters. We learned so much from president 's council for our leaders for zone training. He decided the word "cowboy" is the way to describe the missionaries in this mission. No, not because we wear boots and ride horses, but because in this mission, we have to be tough, strong, not afraid to get dirty, loyal, and hardworking. Maybe I don't know anything about cowboys, or maybe I do because of my Heber life experience, but I'd say that's about right to describe this mission. President also wants us to be even more dignified in our work. I like what one elder said that the change to becoming better dignified and better servants of Christ has to start from the inside out, not the outside in. It's true that Cambodia is a hard place, its a hard mission! This environment, people, and work is hard physically and spiritually. Honestly, when I first got here I said, "alright, not that bad" but the longer I am here, and the more involved in this work I get, I am strating to realize this place needs a LOT of help. There's SO much work to be done. And I'm super grateful I get to be a part in doing it! In August, Elder Holland came and told this mission "they don't just send anyone to Cambodia". I am so grateful everyday for the opportunity I have to be here at this time. Everyone here is a great example to me and we work by the motto that "everything that is hard is only for our good!" Even the heat :) My curry-eating has shot way up in the past week. I am a huge fan of Khmer curry. Sister Leng helped me make it my last week in SMC and now I have had it 4 times in the last 4 days since moving to KC... I don't think it's going to become a habit, it's just a coincidence that everyone wants to give me curry! not complaining... I really REALLY loved General Conference. I did get to watch it in english, and I did learn SO much. The things that I learn or that stick out to me are probably different now than before because I watched in the missionary mindset. It amazes me how EVERYONE can learn so much from conference, young, old, no matter what stage of life. It's like the prophet and apostles are speaking to us personally because we can listen to their voice and be guided by the spirit. Conference is a gift! We are so blessed! I really loved how they talked so much about temples and service to others. Being in a mission that doesn't have a temple makes me "temple-trunky". I cannot wait to be close to a temple again. I encourage all of you that are in such close proximity to take advantage of that opportunity to feel the spirit, peace, and do a service for someone else. It's a win win! Temples = BLESSINGS! Soon, maybe like 3 years, the Thailand temple will be done and Cambodia can take a bus there! I'm WAY pumped because that gives this mission so much hope for the members here. I'm off to tie flowers for some service. I'll send pictures next week. Have a great week everyone! I hope you all enjoyed spring break! love you lots! thanks for the emails, pictures, and prayers!

Love,

Sister W Haddock

Saying bye to Neakmings is so hard! I love Neakming Puang!

Little kids on the street. I tried to get them to do #1. whoops.

my last p-day in the city - mexio food with my sistas

My companion Sister Leng & me parting ways

Siyon at our last lesson together.

I MISS OM IM. And she makes me look like a giant.

THE VIEW from my room. Lotus flowers in that field. the camera doesn't do the red sun justice.

The famous Om Im being a doctor (literally pulled weeds out of the ground and started boiling them) for MingPhuang when we showed up to teach a lesson. She knows her Herbal Meds.


bottom of page