top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: You Become a Mom

Hello Hello!

So like my subject line this week says, SURPRISE! This week I was given a koon (child) trainee and I am now a "mother" missionary! I'm a trainer now! Though I feel that I am one of the younger (in age and experience) sisters of this mission, I'm super grateful for the opportunity to train a new missionary. This training experience will be quite strange because I am still pretty new to this area in Kampongcham and my koon Sister Nit is actually a "mimi-missionary" because she is waiting for her visa to serve in the Portland, OR mission. She hasn't yet had the MTC experience so she is new new to all things missionary! It's been quite fun so far! I feel like I am still in my training, even though it's been only a transfer since I was a koon myself, so having the "trainer" role is quite interesting! Lots to learn and lots to teach, and I'm loving it! This will have to be short letter, out of time. But just an update on cambodia and KC (my area): 1. It's not raining in KC and it's way hotter than usual, so people are getting worried. We need rain to grow rice! and Cambodia needs rice to be happy! So please, pray for rain! 2. All 3 of our progressing investigators moved to different provinces in like 2 days in the last week... quite the downer. Jariyaa was one of them. Also, Sao. I was way bummed when we found out they moved and aren't coming back. Both were doing so well, and Jariyaa was scheduled for baptism yesterday. I know it's all in the Lord's hands and He's going to take care of them whereever they will go, BUT I'm still way sad because they were all so great! and so close to receiving ordinances. Nevertheless (as Nephi would say) we are happy to contact and start over in this area. 3. We did a short visiting activity with some active members and we all went to a less-active area called "phuum taneang" this place is famous in our branch for it's many members who are all in-active. We took some members there, only said hi to a few people, and SUCCESS. We had about 3 ladies come back to church yesterday! Basically, if there is anything I'm going to do when I get home, it will be visiting teaching every single month, without fail. There is POWER in members visiting members. Hopefully once we get the leadership in our branch re-activated we can work with them to establish some sort of Home/Visiting teaching. I was so happy to see the members see the fruits of their simple labor. 4. I met this little 9 year old girl named Julie yesterday, she just saw us biking down the road and followed us to a Less-actives house and just joined in the lesson. We didn't even know her, but she just automatically followed us without saying anything. She's a member and super cute. She came in and sat down in the lesson, pulled out her book of Mormon and even testified and supported me and my companion when we asked her if she wanted to share anything. It was the cutest little thing, but I learned SO much from her example of faith and her willingness to be a missionary! It's so awesome to see so much strength from this little girl! She's going to be a rockin' sister someday. So random, but it was a big blessing! Ok, that's about all I have for this week. Happy Mother's day MOM. I will talk to you soon. I love you all, thanks for the prayers and emails, I love hearing from you! love, Sister Haddock

MY KOON Sister Nit and Me at church. She makes me look like a GIANT

and for you that ask if things are cheaper in Cambodia... this is food what we bought for the week at the psaa (market) this morning for 9 dollars total. and yes. that is 8.8 lbs of mangos for $2! Lettuce, corn, potatoes, hot sauce, sugar, 2 kilos rice, carrots, cabbage, eggs, etc. healthy. and, ITS SO CHEAP HERE ( sanitary? idk. but compared to America... pretty good!)

Fields on the way to Phnom Penh

An investigator's house/shack... I am grateful for the house I have to go back home to every day.

We did service last tuesday raking dirt under someone's house


bottom of page