top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: You Listen

Hello Everyone! How's it going?

It's cold today! Like 85 degrees F cold! There was a huge rainstorm last night that over powered the wat music at 4 am, so we were grateful for the storm even if that meant sludge through the streets in the market to buy food this morning. We did exchanges with the other sisters in our house this week. It was fun! I got to go with Sister Ham to the jungle area and teach some way fun members who I knew already from attending their branch. The other sister's branch is super rural, even more rural than ours. All the houses are bamboo with ladders or bridges up to the front door. Super green, super pretty. Then, we went as a trio on an exchange to the same area again and went out to a far area called Roang. Close to the hills and super pretty. The members out there are super great and active! It's kinda weird how it works that way here, but the farthest people are always the most active. It's the same in our area. The members that live 40 kilos away, across the Mekong, or out on the island across the bamboo bridge are the members that attend church the most! They understand the blessings of sacrifice and the importance of the Gospel. They're such great examples to the rest of the members and missionaries here. We didn't get to meet Bong Mom because her daughter was sick one day and then we had exchanges and then we were sick one day, so hopefully next week we will get a move on with the lessons and continue to see her making great progress. Hiang (the 10 year old) is doing great. We took him a liahona magazine with a lesson on appropriate Sabbath day dress and he was super willing to dress in a white shirt and nice pants but he was concerned that he didn't have a tie. One of the elders gave him a tie to wear to church and it's the cutest thing. That tie is super long for him, but he insists on wearing it! The miracle of the week was small but so great. I didn't know at the time that what I was feeling was a prompting at all. We were on our way back from Roang on Friday and we still had an hour left to proselyte before we could go home. We didn't have any other appointments, so we were going to just contact. But on the road, I had this thought that I needed to get my water bottle I had left at the church on Wednesday. I was like "eh, It'll still be there on sunday, i'll just get it then!" but then I had this other thought "no, you really need your water bottle". It's just a dumb water bottle! I had bought other water bottles to drink so I didn't actually need it, but since we had a little extra time we decided to swing by the church just to grab the bottle. On my way out locking the gate of the church, the keys weren't working right and it was taking me a long time to get the lock to stay put. I looked over at the other side of the street and here comes one of my favorite people, named Jariyaa!!! I wrote about her a while ago... like 2 whole transfers ago! She was a super great investigator who moved away the day before her baptismal interview. She didn't ever get baptized and her phone stopped working. I had given up total hope on ever meeting her again. But there she was! riding her bike passed the church just in that exact moment we were there trying to fix a lock. Had we not have been at the church right at that minute, I never would've seen her again. She lives in the hospital grounds where we don't ever go. She had to come to us! And now she's learning again. BLESSINGS. That was a major miracle. I know without a doubt that Heavenly Father will put us where we need to be when we need to be there. Even if it doesn't seem important it at the time, if you have thoughts, just listen! Lesson learned! Transfer calls came yesterday, Me and my companion are staying the same since she is still in training and will hopefully get a visa soon! I want her to experience AMERICA. It's sbaay. alright, that's all for this week! We all made food for a big fun potluck/games party with the district. Looking forward to a p-day of fun! I miss ya! Love ya! Have a great week! Love, Sister Haddock

bridge on the way to Roang -


bottom of page