top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: You Open the Promise Land

Chomriabsewerrrrrrr...

Guess who LOVING this new area? ME!!!!

So this week has been one of the craziest. It all started when we packed up to leave the jungle town KC and got on a bus. Basically I cried (which never happens...) and saying goodbye to so many people i love out there was super rough. BUT being at the mission home and seeing all my missionary homies and getting a new mini-missionary comp and finding our new house in the CITY was the start to a good week. ToulSangKe is quite the concentrated area of the city. There are so many people and small tiny streets and I wonder how I'm alive sometimes, but it all works out! We spent the first few days prepping the new house and meeting all the members in this area. Basically, I'm LOVING all the members here already. They were super welcoming and they are the type that will see us coming so they grab the phone and call the less-active members down the street to come over and join a lesson with us. It's amazing!

Being with a mini-missionary companion for the 3rd time in my mission is quite the rare experience. It's kinda funny that I can't even remember what it was like to serve with someone that didn't have an end date or went to the actual MTC. It's all a bit strange, but I'm learning SO MUCH. My new comp for the next 2 weeks is Sister Ham, she is a student here in Phnom Penh and she really knows her stuff. I am grateful for her and others that sacrificed to leave everything (including finals week) to serve for 2 weeks because we didn't have enough missionaries in our mission to hold us over. She's super patient and sweet which I'm super grateful for since we are little bending over backwards just to figure this new area out.

Random note: There's this place here they call "Phuum (town) Mormon" because all the local RM's marry each other (after they go home of course) and move out to this little neighborhood and have potlucks together like a BYU ward. It's the funniest thing because you will NEVER find anything like that anywhere else in this country. The bishop and some of the 'famous' members live there. Which means they're in our ward --- which means our ward is literally so organized, it rocks. It's quite the change, shocking almost just because I haven't seen a highly-functioning branch in quite some time. It's way exciting!

Being in the city again also means we teach english class at the big stake buildings which is way fun. It's kinda far away from our area, but it was SUPER fun to see some of the same students I taught there when I was in my training. They still remember me and it's way fun to see how much they've progressed in English or learning the gospel since I left. I now teach advanced class which is also super fun because we teach funny words/idioms like "lollygag" "couch-potato" and how to debate. These kids are so funny sometimes.

I sure do miss KC sometimes... Jariyaa got baptized this week. Though I wasn't able to be there, I saw some pictures. She looked so happy! Can't wait to see her again someday.

This new transfer is going to be a good one, I'm excited! Thanks so much for all your prayers and support. I love and miss you all!

Have a good week!

Love,

Sister Haddock

Selfies with the new comp

These are some cute kids that were super happy to see my red bike. They live in this trash pit.

Jariyaa,

Om Yaa.

Saying goodbye to Bong Naet

this tiny little om that is obsessed with my hair

and Julie and Bei Bei

Srey Chen's chinese service kids where there so they sang me a song again...


bottom of page