top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: The Friends Come Floodin' In

HELLO.

It rained like CRAZY this week. I had my first taste of a real flood. And by taste I mean I really did taste the water because my mouth was open because I was laughing like crazy trying to stay up-right and bike through a river of floating garbage! It didn't really taste that good, but made for some pretty good pictures on other people's phones I bet! I also have a slight cold, but no parasites, so I think things are going well!

This week we had so many instances where we would run into people that kinda know us or people that wanted to be instant friends. not complaining! During the big flood on Friday night, we were pulled over onto an elevated gas station with a billion other people that were waiting for the water to go down a bit and random people all over were like "Hey Sister, crazy rain, huh?" I'm pretty sure we found more less-active members and former investigators that way than by searching through old records! That was pretty funny. And then as we were pulling trash out of our bike chains so we could start riding again, some guy passed us on a moto and said "Hey Sister, do you need help?" Everyone here knows us! I feel like a Mormon celebrity!

We met a lady on the side of the street a week ago and she said we could come back and teach her so we tested that out. Turns out she's awesome and wants to keep learning! Success from street contacting has never really happened to me before, so that was really cool. She was so worried about forgetting how to pray or that she wouldn't be able to get to church that I was super worried she was already a member or something... haha she was just so good! We are going to go back tonight probably and see if she's ready to commit to be baptized. WOOHOO!

Also, on friday morning this week, we biked all the way out to KILO 11. which feels like it's all the way out in Thailand, but it's actually just looked like my old area in Stung Mean Chey. There are a few less active families that live all the way out there (11 kilos) and they were super nice to us. Funny story, I asked this random guy that gave us cokes if he had seen this long lost girl I had a record of. He's like "wow. That's my cousin. You found her! Yeah, I'll lead you to her house!" so we carefully followed this guy down a few streets then he stops in front of a nice house and says"that's the one!" so this old lady comes out of the house and motions for us to come in. She's super excited and nice and sits us down and we start talking to her and i realize this isn't the girl we're looking for and she has no idea who this record belongs to either. So we start asking questions, turns out the lady is a Christian but goes to a different church, but she let us teach her and then she turned on the TV and wanted us to stay and hang out with her all day... we kindly declined and left and were like "what just happened?" it was way random and we even read the Book of Mormon with her and everything. Super strange. We invited her to come to church with us and to learn but she lives out in the middle of no-where, so I hope someday we will see her again.

Everyone here is super friendly and loving. Even when we couldn't speak very well, everyone was super nice to us missionaries. I just love how open and inviting all the ladies are. Friends are easy to find here, thank goodness! They always say "it's hard, but learn to love the people in your mission." I don't think loving Heavenly Father's children should be a difficult thing to do! To be loved, truly love! It works both ways I guess. I've learned that being a loving friend is something that can open doors, brighten lives, and save souls. "Hatred always fails and bitterness always destroys, but 'charity never faileth'". I love you and miss you! Show your love for Heavenly Father by loving His children. Do something nice for someone this week.

Som Soksabaay!

Love,

Sister Haddock

It's FLOOD SEASON

I LOVE SISTER SNOOKS

This bridge to someone's house at kilo 11 in a village on the river.


bottom of page