top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: Families are FOREVER

Hello Hello Hello!

I have to be at lunch in literally like 2 seconds but I had the best hour of all of my mission life yesterday so I have to share that with you all! Ming SokLim GOT BAPTIZED. I know this is a shock because I haven't said hardly anything about her because she's only been learning for a few weeks with us and also she is the most amazing lady. I'm so grateful for the opportunity God gave me to work with her and help her on her way through the door to eternity with her family. Ming is the bishop''s mom in ToulSangKe ward and we were super excited when we started teaching her because she was just so easy! I waited and waited for some kind of flaw or problem to slow her down but THERE WEREN'T ANY. She is seriously so cool. She self-committed herself to keep the work of wisdom 5 months ago.. ages before she started learning with the missionaries. Also, she finished the entire Book of Mormon and much more reading in preparation for her baptism. I can't stop talking about how good she is because that's all, she's just SO GOOD! Anyway, she was baptized yesterday, short notice for us and for her family, but because of conference and phchum ben *like Buddhist/Cambodian Christmas* for 2 weeks, I didn't want to make someone who was so prepared wait for a whole month! Therefore, we got her into an interview, finished all the lessons, and had a great experience over the last week working with her and her family. After she was baptized by her son, the bishop and first of his family to join the church in like 1994 back before it was even a thing here, he stood and gave some very powerful remarks. I felt this overwhelming confirmation that this is the truth, this was all part of Heavenly Father's plan, and FAMILIES ARE FOREVER. Bishop looked at his mother, choked up and said, "Mom, I love you. We will do the work necessary, and I know we will be together forever in this life and the next. I couldn't be happier." That is a huge deal because you will never see that kind of affection to a parent in this culture ever. I cried for a good 5 minutes by myself behind the piano... then to make the tears really flow we sang "families can be together forever" as the closing hymn and everyone in the room was crying. This is not an emotion-showing country. At all. BUT when the spirit is that strong, there's nothing else you can do. I have never felt that kind of peace or love towards anyone I've ever taught before. I've never been in a moment so happy to bring me to tears like that before. Heavenly Father's love is real, and He will let us feel how he feels about His children if we ask. The best is that when bishop told me the other day that he has been trying for 20 years to invite his mom to church, and that he was just so happy. He said that all he could do for the last 20 years was just pray that in the lord's timing, she would find the gospel, accept it herself, and have her own desire to be baptized and partake of the gifts Heavenly Father has to offer. After hearing that, it all just amplified the whole situation even more. I have this strong feeling of gratitude that Heavenly Father allowed me to work with Ming sok Lim and her family. I'm so grateful for the opportunity to be a part of and witness the true change that happens in our lives when we seek to follow Christ. I know Heavenly Father has a plan for each of us, He loves us, and He lives! Miracle #564 of the week: we wrote in our planners that we were going to get 2 refferals (we never do that) and then we prayed that it would happen, and then, IT HAPPENED. But even better, we have like 4 referrals to call tonight!!!! YES. It's all about faith. Really. Faith can do amazing things. Ming Saray, a super poor, homeless, but so hopeful member made us a feast the other day and I again, couldn't even express my thanks enough because I was so amazed by her love and willingness to give when she doesn't even have anything for herself. People like her teach me how to love others and change my perspective on life every single day. We pray for her everyday that she will be able to get help to find a house and come to church and keep her strong hope and faith in the Savior. She's one of my favorites here. I don't have much more to add, but just that President Thomas S. Monson, our prophet and friend is going to give amazing counsel in a few days and I really hope that you will attend and find out what we need to do to keep strong in this crazy world! Also, from what I hear all the way over here in this side of the world, with the way politics are going in America, we will need all the help we can get. Listening to a prophet of God is a good solution I think! haha. I hit 1 year in the mission this week, and I don't even know how to feel about that, so I will just say, THANKS to Heavenly Father, I'm still alive, and I'm LOVING life. I cannot explain how amazing missions are. That's all. Heavenly Father loves you and I do too. Have a great week!

Love,

Sister Haddock

The font here is a literal ice cooler.

Also this baby and her lips. You duck face, she will do it back!


bottom of page