top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: "Therefore They Hushed Their Fears"

^^^ If you haven't read that talk by Elder Bednar, I highly recommend it. 1. Because it was really good and 2. Because it's Elder Bednar!

Hello everyone!

My comp and I just happened to read that talk recently before we went to an urgent service activity at a member's house. The member and her family was moving into this dungeon-like room that has been shut up for 5 years in a kinda sketch ally part of the city, so we came along to help lift her belongings. Except, she had different service in mind and when we pulled up to the 'new' house, we had quite the feeling of disgust and fear because this place literally looks like a dungeon. Only a few of the dim lights were working, and they handed us masks and brooms and said, "clean". Well, this place had been shut up for so long that it had become infested. Cockroaches literally just running back and forth at our feet and swarming in from old abandoned mattresses and window sills. The ceiling was super low so we were crouched over, whacking and screaming and stomping and whacking and screaming! In about 3 minutes I realized somethings : 1. I WILL get over my fear of bugs 2. These members were going to move into this house because they can't find any affordable options and 3. I cannot ever complain about anything ever again. <- I know I say that a lot, but it's true. The fear that we felt as we were screaming and running around didn't even matter anymore because I realized that I could leave anytime I wanted to and go shower in my nice missionary house, but these members, these people that I've taught for months and learned to love so much would be living in this hole in the wall. I guess my fear was then swallowed up by gratitude. After we finally finished squashing all the roaches, we left and got cleaned up and we have willingly gone over twice since then to help clean more. I feel like every time I get a little bit comfortable, Heavenly Father will give me a little shock experience so I remember the need to be charitable, humble, and grateful. Perfect timing for Thanksgiving isn't it?

Last week in district meeting, someone quoted "Gratitude separates blessings from coincidences." I also read a short excerpt by Elder Robert D. Hales that says "Gratitude is a state of appreciation, an act of thanksgiving, which causes us to be humble because we recognize an act of kindness, service, or caring from someone else which lifts and strengthens us. Gratitude brings a calming peace. We put our lives in His hands realizing that all that transpires will be for our experience."

Like Elder Bednar says in that talk, fear is dispelled through a correct knowledge of Jesus Christ, which we are very grateful for as Latter-Day Saints because this world can be kinda scary sometimes. I know that my cockroach killing doesn't even measure up to the fear of real-life problems, but I'm so very grateful that I can rely on the Savior and I'm extremely grateful for the fortunate life I live. Sometimes people would ask, "are you freaked out you're in Cambodia? Doesn't that scare you?" And I would say... "uh....no?" I didn't know that there was anything to be afraid of while doing the Lord's work. Really though, we learn to rely on His help so much, that as long as we are wise, we are protected. I love being a missionary and there's nothing better! I'm forever grateful to be a part of this work and I love every minute of it.

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving. D&C 68:6. My missionary motto.

Love,

Sister Haddock

P.S. There will be a baptism next week, so stay tuned!


bottom of page