top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

What Happens When: It's Ch-urkey Day!!!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

Our investigator Pu Krouy got baptized yesterday!!!! YES. Also, he's got a cool story I gotta share really fast because I'm already out of time. Anyway, PuKrouy was in the military like 40 years ago and something happened that caused him to flee to Thailand. He spent 32 years in Thailand where he found out that The LDS church was a real thing and he spent years and years looking for it. He went to lots of other Christian churches and new he believed in Christ, but he didn't find the church that he knew was true until one day, after 5 years of looking since he came back to Cambodia, he saw two american elders ride into the North Stake Center and followed them. Turns out those elders were in my area, and Pu lives in our area, and he came to church and the rest is history. He self-committed to keep the word of wisdom like 4 weeks before we even taught him that lesson, and he read the Book of Mormon faster than I've ever seen. He understands so much, it's so cool to just watch him soak it all in. He's so dedicated to Christ that even though he lives so far over the bridge in lalaland, he still manages to meet with us and come to church every week. The other fun thing about it is that he and the member help we had attend our lessons are now wanting to get married so..... that escalated quickly, but we're happy for them.

This week we went to lots of meetings including training for the new missionaries! Since my new comp is a mini-missionary we were invited to attend and we learned a ton about being deliberate disciples. I like that someone shared that deliberate obedience requires deliberate repentance as well. It's so true. I'm finding lately that as we increase in obedience, we also must increase in repentance. It has to do with being more aware of our mistakes and our shortcomings each day. It's not quite a developed thought yet, but that's the beginning of it.

Thanksgiving on the mission is probably my favorite holiday. Of course I miss my family, but mission families help us out a lot during the season too. We had a wonderful dinner at the Dowd's house. They actually made so many chickens and then.... THEY PULLED OUT A TURKEY. LIKE A REAL TURKEY EVERYONE. YOU DON"T EVEN KNOW. They don't have those here in Cambodia. At ALL! Miracles happen! Even the chickens here are so tiny. Anyway, we had a wonderful ch-urkey meal and even had real pumpkin pie! Then we talked about how thankful we are for all our wonderful blessings and for God's plan for us.

I'm now directing/violinist for stake conference next week. Wish us luck!

We cleaned the church for a few hours because they're 'beautifying' the building, and as a reward they gave us durian ice-cream sandwiches. I honestly liked tarantulas more than durian I think... I was super grateful because it was cold, but it was one of the harder things to swallow. it's alright, it's always the thought that counts! try this at home -> literal hotdog bun with ice-cream in it. It sells like crazy here!

We are gonna find lots of cbrs this week. That will be really good for our area if we can continue to find more less-active work.

"Preach the Gopel at all times and when necessary, use words." -Frances of Assisi.

Have a great week! I'm grateful for your example and for your prayers. I miss you! love you!

Love,

Sister Haddock

I LOVE CHURKEY DAY (that's with the real turkey)

KOON TRAINING. Dang it my comps eyes are closed, but I only have one picture...

SOME CUTE KIDS


bottom of page